RSL ANZAC Awards 2021

The Returned & Services League of Australia (RSL) today announced the recipients of the 2021 RSL ANZAC of the Year awards.

The ANZAC of the Year Awards are made annually ‘to recognise the efforts and achievements of up to seven Australians who have given service to their fellow Australians and to the community in a positive, selfless and compassionate manner.’

The nominations for the ANZAC Awards are assessed and selected by the National RSL ANZAC Awards Committee whose members include, Chairman – Greg Melick, RSL National President; Paul Singer, Official Secretary to the Governor-General of Australia; Peter Rush, Assistant Secretary Department of Prime Minister & Cabinet; former Senator, Margaret Reid and Phil Winter, RSL National CEO.

The 2021 recipients are:

  • Mr Bill Collidge of Riverton, WA – in recognition of his many years of selflessness and extraordinary service in association with the WA Police Force and the RSL, supporting welfare and employment projects for veterans and their families, disadvantaged youth, Defence Force Cadets WA and the wider community of Riverton.
  • Mr Denis Thompson of the Sunshine Coast, QLD – in recognition of his many years of dedicated service to provide support to veterans through the Cooroy Pomona RSL Sub-Branch, the RSL Queensland Sunshine Coast District and to the wider community of the Sunshine Coast.

The RSL National Board, on behalf of the League, have extended their congratulations to Mr Collidge and Mr Thompson.

RSL National President, Greg Melick said; “the award recipients exemplify the Spirit of ANZAC in the community through their dedication and commitment to the benefit of others. They are exemplars of community service and an inspiration to all Australians.”

2021-05-26T08:22:51+10:00April 22nd, 2021|Categories: Latest News|Comments Off on RSL ANZAC Awards 2021